Since more people are travelling abroad nowadays, it is necessary for individuals to have a greater awareness of other cultures

Travelling has become really popular in the last decade. The Low-cost airlines have opened the opportunity to travel abroad and to discover new places for more people. In this essay, I would like to discuss the different issues that this opening of borders may have created. Most of the people travelling to a different country do not do any research about the culture of the country they are planning to visit. When they arrive in the new countries they continue to behave and to do things as they would do in the home, without even realising that they are being extremely disrespectful. For example, in Japan, it is socially incorrect to eat on the street. The travelling industry is having a big socio-cultural impact. It is called the cultural clash. Cultural clashes can lead to misunderstandings, conflicts, discrimination, and even violence if not addressed properly. Many tourists come from societies with different consumption patterns and lifestyles than the destination, spending large amounts of money or showing their big cameras or smartphones. This can lead to conflicts between the locals and visitors. In summary, travelling is now available to almost everyone. However, travellers have to be responsible and respectful of the visiting country and habitats. In addition, visitors should read and do some research about the culture and traditions in the countries that they are going to visit, to be completely aware of behaviours that may be different to the ones back home.