4) In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think is this a positive or negative development?

In many countries, home ownership, has greater importance than paying rent. This is because many feel a mortgage is a better investment for the future, however I do not believe this is a advantageous because it reduces a person’s freedom. Millions people take out a mortgage on a home each year because they want to save for the future. They think each mortgage payment contributes to their overall net worth and this money cannot be taken away from them. This is because each month they reduce the size of the loan and increases their equity in the property and many use this fund their retirement. For example, many Indian immigrants living in Canada detest paying rent because they feel it is wasted money. However, I think a mortgage dramatically reduces one’s life choices. That is say that monthly payments on a house loan must be paid no matter what, or the person may have their home taken from them. This relentless pressure to pay on time, means that people stay in steady jobs rather than taking risk of starting a new career, becoming an entrepreneur, or travelling the world. For instance, this is one of the main reasons why young people are far more likely to change their life paths than older people because they are less likely to be punished by banks for taking risks. In conclusion, owing property will always be the preferred option for people who believe taking out a huge bank loan on real estate is better long-term investment, however, I disagree because of the opportunity cost, it involves by giving up the chance to make our own choices in life.