In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern world, the choices made by young people with regards to beginning a career are changing as many of them are choosing do training in the workplace. This has numerous benefits for both the society and the young, though some drawbacks also exist. Higher education opens a number of doors to graduates, who will have more opportunities as life develops, so they feel more satisfied by their profession, have high salaries and the possibility for improve their education with Master’s degree in the future. This means they will have a higher quality life, and will be able to save money for the future. Furthermore, in educating themselves, many people can feel a sense of satisfaction and personal development. However, a huge advantage for youngsters making the decision to enter the workplace nowadays is in the range of apprenticeship and training opportunities available. These allow young workers to earn enough money and recieve on-the-job training while attending college courses and getting qualifications. In countries where this apprenticeships are not available, young people may be able to pay their own part-time studies by earning a salary. For example, they might chose to gain experience working as part of a team in a convenience store or cafe, allowing them to learn on the job and save some money. Furthermore, the experience that young people receive when working is unvaluable in the real world of work. That is to say, education is good for understanding in general, but you cannot be such good worker in an office environment with only knowledge from books. Indeed, our society needs people who know how to do things, not just talk about them. In conclusion, there are many advantages of a traditionally university education, but I believe the benefits of more modern options outweigh them, as they are open to all and enable young people to gain awareness and experience necessary to earn a good salary from their chosen career.