Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a vital role in every individual’s life that leads their life towards the growth. Regarding that, a mass of the population opines that education system prioritize teaching theoretical facts on learning practical skills. I strongly agree with this fact. In the present essay, I will justify my opinion before giving a logical conclusion. There are tremendous facts that reveal the dominance of education system towards bookish knowledge. Firstly, it has been seen that educators spend a large amount of time in teaching theories and books content rather than focusing on its practical implications. In particular, the time allocation for theory class is always longer than the practical one, which indirectly reduces the importance of practical skills among students. Secondly, whether it is schools or universities, the weightage of theory subjects is significantly high in comparison with its practical trials. Thus, students are more focused on memorising the laws and definitions given in the books to get more marks in exams rather than shows curiosity towards its implementation in real life. To cite an example, a recent survey from Oxford University reveals that student graduated with distinction faced a lot of challenges in their workplace because of lack of skills that make them able to apply their knowledge into real scenario. Talking about another aspect, there is no denying that acquiring knowledge from written content of authors provide a basis to understand any concept and is crucial to learn in depth for its correct application. It is worth mentioning that without having proper details about theoretical aspect one can not able to use it in a productive way. For instance, students can not do experiments in the Chemistry laboratory without learning the exact theoretical formulas. Amalgamating the above points elaborated, I believe that practical skills should be equally prioritize by learning institutions along with its theoretical context.