Some people believe that children watch on TV influences their behavior. Some say it is the amount of time watching television that influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The evidence is good that watching TV has a profound impact on children's behavioral development. However, people remain divided over whether it is the content or the duration over which children sit in front of the television that affects their behaviour. In this answer, I will look at the impacts that each factors exerts on young viewers before concluding that what children watch on TV plays a greater role in shopping how they act and think than how much they actually watch it. The images that children see on TV no doubt explain their behaviors. The young tend to imitate whatever captivates them, and the attention-grabbing nature of television facilitates this tendency. For example, children are quick to parrot catchphrases on their favorite shows or the lyrics to a catchy jingle. By the same token, displays of violence could instigate aggressive behaviors, while nudity could incite premature interest in the opposite sex. On a more profound level, the things that children witness on television will subliminally shape their very moral codes and belief systems. For example, Power Rangers and other superhero franchises, while originally created as light-hearted entertainment, manage to impact to their preteen audience lessons about teamwork, altruism, or the eventual triumph of good over evil. Another example is Disney's princess-themed series, which inadvertently dictate to young girls how they should look and who they should aspire to be in life. These influences will manifest themselves in the way children talk and behave toward others. On the other hand, we can not discount the effect that screentime has on children, particularly their physical activity level. In fact, studies have suggested a strong correlation between TV watching and a sedentary lifestyle. However, I believe this effect is tenuous compared to the ones decribed above. First, children do not spend as much time watching TV as they did in the past in the light of newly invented distractions such as smartphones, video games or even social media, all of which contribute to their reluctance to participate in physical activities. Second, it may not take repeated encounters for children to mimic the actions, languages, or fashion they see on TV, especially something graphic or jarring, which could be ingrained in children's minds for years even if they only experience it momentarily. In conclusion, what children see on TV and how much they watch it both affect the way behave, but the former's impact is significantly greater.