There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a well-established fact that students experience a lot of pressure in order to succeed academically, and due to this reason non-academic subjects should be excluded from the school syllabus, so students would be able to focus on academic subjects only. I personally believe that those lessons should be included to the schedule of students. There are two principal reasons for this. One point that I believe to be absolutely pivotal is the fact that at non-academic subjects students can communicate with their peers and find maybe friends for life because there is a huge probability of having the same kinds of hobbies and interests. Adding further credibility to the statement brings to an idea of the fact that all the time studying academic subjects can lead to the burnout. What I mean by this is that due to the academic pressure students already experience a lot mental health issues and if they cannot spend few hours a day relaxing and doing things that they like can lead to such psychological problems as depression, apathy and so on. Also, they may just quit all their studies. Turning to the other side of the argument focusing only on important subjects may improve their knowledge and scores substantially. What I mean by this is that students will spend way more time studying and improving their knowledge on academic subjects because they will not ave other things to do. In conclusion, by taking into account all the above-mentioned reasons, I once again reaffirm my position that non-academic subjects are imprortant for students, especially for their mental well-being.