Popular events like the World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way . What extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that worldwide events and international sports competitions, such as Euroleague and Diamond Olympic Games, have an important role in lessening tensions between countries and providing a safe environment to uncover nationalistic spirits. This essay totally agrees that statement. I believe that international sport occasions calm negative feelings down by engaging people with different cultures and reducing the drawbacks of nationalism. The first reason why popular sports events help to decrease harmful tensions is that they bring audiences up from different cultures. This kind of competition are great place to socialize, to help people to show their differentness to visitors from numerous countries, and of course to learn new beauties of the world’s cultural diversity. These interactions strenghten world peace by engaging with different kindsw of cultures. For example, it was seen that World Cup after WW2 made a good impact on relaxing political tensions between Allies and Axis countries. International sports organizations always have high degree of competition and visitors usually support their countries that they are from because of their patriotic feelings. They unearth nationalistic souls by shouting for their countries rather than fighting with rivals. Therefore, they throw their nationalistic energies in a peaceful and enjoyable way. To give an example, the quarter-final match between Bulgaria and Romania basketball teams in Euroleague 2012 was the beginning of good relationships after political conflicts in the Balkans. In conclusion, because of getting countless cultures from different parts of the world together and diminishing the negative sides of nationalism, popular events and international sporting occasions are indispensable.