Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of the charging policy of museums has triggered a round of heated debate. Although some people claim that the tolls may provoke the negative effects on these institutions, I firmly believe that the contributing factors are more outweighing. First and foremost, charging attendees is the most efficient way of gaining funds, which is conducive to easing the financial pressure of the government. On one hand, from buying new equipment to maintaining facilities, these cultural and educational hubs have a lot of expenses that directors cannot obtain with one source of income. On the other hand, the staff expenses are also highly dependent on the government expenditure. Therefore, the fees can subsidize part of the expenditure or even break even and the money saved can be invested in other public areas, such as education and health care. Besides, the charging policy is beneficial to improving the experience for visitors and boosting their appeal. In the first place, the money collected would guarantee better exhibits through investing in the decorations, the content, or even in the more exciting forms: some modern technologies such as VR. In the second place, entrance tickets may weed out some casual museum-goers and ensure people care about what they are viewing. Finally, some venues allow certain individuals a discount or a free ticket, enabling patrons to help pay for students and the disadvantaged. To conclude, I am convinced that charging people for admission contributes to raising funds and enriching tourists’ experience.