In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advatanges of having an ageing population outweigh the disavantages?

Expectancy of life has increased dramatically during the last decades as well as there are more prevalent of chronic diseases. For this reason, many scientists argue that longevity has more drawbacks, however, many others believe that aging population represents wisdom. From my perspective, I considere considered that demerits outweigh merits, and in this essay, I explain in detail my reasons. To start with, aging is a natural process that every human has to face, it is not only about wrinckles or the deterioration of some physical attributes, but also about biological mechanisms because body cells are under chronic stress and their intrisic capacity of survival decreases. Therefore, human's functionality falls gradually until simple tasks have to be supported by relatives or care workers. For example, dementia, which is exemplify by Alzhimer disease or frontotemporal dementia, has reached their acme during the last century. Besides, nowadays chronic illnesses, namely primary hypertension, diabetes, and chronic renal disease, have shown more debastating consequences by affecting seriously the quality of life. Additionally, polices of retirement are highly recognized worldwide, however, they rely on the financial requiriments that should be completed by people that are economically active. During the last years, rate of aging people have been increasing, however, rate of natality has decreased steadily. As a consequence of this, in the near future, the economic field might collapse due to the lack of resources to supply pensioners. For example, in Colombia, the system are not being paid by workers since approximately 10 years ago, then most elder people is not receiving their payments, and there are not enough vacancies for employing them. To sum up, there are more disadvantages than benefits related to longer lives and ancient people. However, social, political, cultural, and gubernmental issues should be taken into account.