As computer translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In the contemporary era, translating technology has been dramatically changed for last 10 years, becoming faster and more accurate. This change makes some individuals think learning other languages is useless. This essay will present an opinion opposing the claim and suggest appropriate reasons. One of the greatest reasons why learning languages is imperative is being able to speak other languages does not simply mean that a person is becoming multilingual. They contain a culture and history developed by natives. Moreover, comprehending a hidden meaning behind words and context related to native conventions could give pleasure to language learners and help them communicate with native speakers effectively. For example, English originated from Celts and people can find their trace in several words, which leads to their interest in learning English. Another reason is the translating technology is not fully developed to use during real-life communication. It is widely accepted that traslator has become faster than before and people usually utilise it in various situations. However, inputting a sentence and interpreting it needs time, which is not enough to use it in real time conversation. This might make individuals uncomfortable therefore, learning other languages is still efficient. In conclusion, obtaining a strong interest by understanding the origin and history of language and slow translation speed are avocating that learning foreign languages is still needed. This necessity of language skills are essential until translating technology having enough speed completely substitute for the need to study languages.