The friends that children have are a very important part of their lives. What kinds of influence may children's friends have on them? What can parents do to ensure that their children's friends are a good influence on them?

It is generally agreed that peer’s pressure is inevitable, since kids are raised up in the society and contact other children daily. The impact friends have on the young people can be both beneficial and disastrous, depending on numerous circumstances. However, I firmly believe that parents may set certain conditions to provide positive influence of others on their offspring, such as instilling the right values in them and teaching them to think independently. Regarding effects peers have on kids, promoting a certain way of life is the major one. For instance, those who are keen on sports can motivate others to start training, forming a positive pattern of behaviour. On the contrary, those who use drugs, play truant from school and do other disruptive things might force well-bred pupils to follow their example, changing their future for the worse. Both positive and negative scenarios are difficult to change, since friends are often regarded as more influential than the family members. However, parents may take measures to protect their kids from the ruining actions of their acquaintances. First and foremost, such values as love, independence and responsibility should be transmitted, in order to teach the young how to distinguish bad from good. Secondly, an ability to think for oneself must be developed, since it is the only way to predict possible outcomes of a dangerous behaviour. If a kid knows what is the right thing to do and sees the potential damage that the wrong action may lead to, he will probably refuse to stay under his friends’ pressure. To conclude, it is believed that the impact of peers can be both advantageous and disadvantageous for the individual, depending on circumstances. Nevertheless, guardians must protect their offspring from the negative influence by teaching them how to behave normally and make their own decisions. If these measures are implemented, I assume that the number of criminal actions made by the youngsters may be declined.