In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of outweigh the disadvantages?

Countries with higher portion of elderly people have their own perks. The further explanation about this statement will be presented in this essay. Firstly, there are some advantages of having more elderly people. For example, the institution will build more infrastructures for the old ones, such as public transportations, health facilities, and parks. This will not only beneficial for the elderly but also all people in those states are able to use the same amenities since there is no limitation rule. Secondly, the other positive impact is young people awareness to look after their grandmothers or grandfathers will increase because they just simply love them and are not willing to escort them into nursing house. Actually, it is such a heart-warming situation. As a result, the happiness index of the people will rise and the stress level will decrease. On the other hand, nations with the the majority of population is elderly will probably experience an uneven population distribution that leads into sluggish growth of population and lack of productive people. Consequently, these unproductive people will become a burden for their family since they are not producing money anymore, except for those who still accept salary for their retirement. That is why this situation should be prepared by the government. The institution needs to make a clear rule that guaranteed its citizen lives remain stable although they have elderly to take care of. In conclusion, happiness is above everything. As long as the people of those countries feel happy taking care of the elderly, the burden that has been stated before is easily diminished.