Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are causing tremendous damage to the environment nowadays. This essay will discuss the damages that are happening to our environment due to plastics. Followed by that it will discuss what are the actions that can be taken by the government or an individual to get rid of this problem. Nowaday, the usage of plastics has been enormously increased. As plastics are non biodegradable material, these cannot be broken down into small particles by the natural process as like biodegradable waste material. As a result of this, these plastics cannot be decomposed and will stay in its own form forever. The survey which was taken on plastics says that, the plastics are permeated to almost sixty to seventy percent of the earth surface. Due to this, the survival of the plants and animals have been minimized. Let us consider in case of stray animals, they mainly search their food in the rubbish bins. As they don't know about the effects of plastics, when they ingest them, these cannot be digested by their internal organs and causing them to death. Either a government or an individual can take any necessay action to reduce the usage of plastics. Instead of using the plastic bags, the bags which are made of cotton materials can be used. The countries such as the United Kindgom and India, will be the best example for this scenario.The government of India have banned the usgae use of plastic bags instead they enchouraged encourage the people to use the bags which are made up clothes. Additionally, in the United Kingdom the majority of the shopping bags are made up of the biodegradable wastes, which will not cause any damage to the environment. In conclusion, as the plastics are causing many problem in our environment, the usage of plastics should be minimized. Reducing the usage of plastics is not only the job of the government but also an equal responsibility of an individual in a society.