Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

There is an argument that it is necessary to leave traditions for the sake of progress. This is mainly because innovation relates to the future while traditions sound like past things. However, I disagree with the statement for several reasons, and I will examine the role which should traditions have. To begin with, it is not debatable that traditions give some benefits to our lives. One of them is we can learn from a tradition in order to make a new technology. For example, a washing machine was founded because it was inspired by a habit of Chinese people in a small village using a traditional turbine that was placed in a small river. Because of this concept, the inventor had an idea to clean clothes effectively and efficiently. Considering the essential roles of traditions in our lives, I think that traditions should be preserved from one generation to another. It means that we have to tell our society and government how to make the values of traditions will be owned by each people. I believe that traditions not only improve the technical things but also the attitude of people. For instance, Japan is one of the countries which still keeps maintaining its traditions by making a policy created by the government. In fact, it is very helpful for Japanese people to have a good character such as being punctual persons from an early age. To sum up, traditions can help people to create new innovations and teach society how to have a good character as people. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that not forgetting the traditions is a good move in order to make a better life in the future.