Social media is becoming an increasingly large part of people’s lives. What are the effects of the trend? Do you believe this is a positive or negative trend for society?

Internet community is the most used platform in today's world. Social media has become an effective way of communicating with each other and finding new and old friends. Although this has a lot of benefits in being interactive, it also comes with many drawbacks, such as ruining the innocence of children and making people believe everything they see over the internet displays the truth. In this essay, I will explain why social media can affect society negatively. Firstly, the internet has influenced youngsters so much that many children are no more interested in nature or physical activities but rather spend all their time surfing over the social media apps, which brings no benefit to them. In 2019, when the pandemic hit the whole world, many children between the ages of 9-15 indulged in social media apps like TikTok, which affected them in their studies and made them lose their innocence by watching inappropriate videos on the internet. Furthermore, it not only affects their childhood but also makes them disconnected from their surroundings, which leads to depression. In 2020, my friend's brother, who was only 14 years old, attempted to commit suicide because he was madly in love with a catfisher on the internet. However, it not just only ruined his childhood but also made him mentally unstable with a lack of focus in his studies. Moreover, many individuals believe whatever they see on the internet is the truth, which makes them lack confidence in themselves. People on social media showcase to the viewers like everything is perfect in their world by posting glamorous videos or happy pictures, which only shows the positive side of their life. This, in fact, depresses the community as they think that their life is only filled with obstacles and they are unlucky to be living with such a traumatic life. Half of the Indians are influenced by Bollywood celebrities whom they see on Instagram or Facebook, which forces them to become anorexic and look beautiful like the celebrities. This is, however, a disorder called social media disorder which demotivates people from believing in themselves and makes them agoraphobic as they think they are not fit enough to be confident. To conclude, social media might bring people closer to each other, but it also increases their anxiety and gives them mental problems like anxiety disorder or panic disorder. Although the internet forum has definitely become a very important part in people's lives, but the only reason to overcome social media disorder is to limit screen time and do more physical activities like walking around the beach or in the park. In addition, it is vital for parents to allow children to experience the beauty of nature and keep them busy by allowing them to make friends in person rather than on the internet, which preserves their childhood.