Some developed countries have reduced the number of school hours. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary world, the time spent in educational institutes has been cut off by certain developed nations. I personally hold a belief that this is one of the productive steps due to its significant benefits. I will justify my opinion in the following paragraphs. To begin with, it has been seen that most of the students found a scarcity of the time for doing any extra-curricular activities as they have to spend a considerable amount of time in their schools only. As a consequences, after spending a long-hours hectic day at school they feel quite exhausted which makes them unable to do any other desirable tasks. To cite an example, In a developing country like India, about 85% of the schoolgoers who attend full-timetime school from 9 AM to 5 PM show only 10% participation in sports and other creative activities. In that context, reducing the school duration not only provides plenty of time to do extra activities such as music, arts and sports, but also breaks their monotonous routine and reduces the study-related stress among the children. As a result, in addition to bookish knowledge, they can get time to enhance their extra skills. Talking about another aspect, cutting educational hours can hinder the study among students. To be specific, it can be challenging for the educators to cover the entire syllabus within a short allocated period. Thus, it not only increases the stress among teachers to learn a bunch of the topics in a single period but also makes it difficult for students to catch a huge content in a single session. From a personal standpoint, although spending fewer hours in school makes it problematic for tutors and students to complete the syllabus on time, I am lean to count this change as a benefit that allows the students to nourish their extracurricular skills and reducing the academic stress by providing ample time.