Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree?

The ubiquity of computers is shifting the way people think, work, study, and live, including the development of the next generation. While some consider the use of new technology can boost efficiency and improve life quality, others maintain that growing dependence on machines may be more harmful than imagined. Indeed, despite obvious benefits, using computers every day might impose several unwelcome consequences on children. Computers are remarkable for children for the following three reasons. First, computers allow students to explore all kinds of knowledge in various forms, expanding their understanding of the world and different cultures. Second, completing school work on computers can be way more efficient than conventional methods, saving plenty of time and energy that can be applied to activities outside of the curriculum. Finally, computers enable long-distance learning which simultaneously benefits teachers, students and parents. Nevertheless, all the merits mentioned are based on one essential principle: children must be under guidance and restricted to use the machine, otherwise, there will be reversed effects. Children who have unchecked access to computers often encounter several problems. The most common is the obsession with the desktop device. A computer provides miscellaneous unfiltered information, including violent, sexual, hateful and politically motivated messages that can alter young minds fundamentally. Without proper and stringent oversight from parents and teachers, these kids are more inclined to engage in misconduct than their peers. Another vital impact is the declining reading and writing ability among young people. Those with longer screen time tend to be more reliant on the quick access to insights offered by their PC, which may have long-term damage to their critical thinking capability. Moreover, spending a large proportion of time on electronic devices means a shrinkage in interactions and communications with real-life friends. Thus, as many social scientists have pointed out, too much time spent on computers may have a significant impact on the sustainable growth of offspring. In closing, although there are undeniable benefits of children using computers, overabundant screen time, for instance, unlimited access on a daily basis, could lead to multiple negative outcomes that eclipse the bright lights.