Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, technological devices have become widely popular in societies, especially in youngsters. Many people believe that there are many benefits because of their functions and utilities, however, reliance on technology is a theat to our growth as human beigns. For this reason, I staunchly believe that cutting-edge technologies should be carefully used, and their widespread implement have many drawbacks. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To start with, it is clear that since computers and other types of gadgets have been created, people spent most of their time on the social media. Then, social skills have been asided aside as well as interpersonal communication has decreased dramatically. This means, that humankind has replaced their traditional activities, such as share high-quality time with their families, reading, etc. Therefore, people tend to be more isolated by leading to more prevalence of mental diseases, exemplified by depression, anxiety, bipolarity, etc. Additionally, addiction rate to smartphones has exponencially increase, and the population use those devices during the whole day. As a consenquece of this, sedentarism is becoming more frequent as well as the prevalence of chronic diseases with higher cardiovascular risk. For example, The American Heart Association recently published that obesity proportion has climbed by 30% due to lack of physical activity. Besides, sleep hygiene is not employ because phones are used almost overnight. To sum up, technology should be restricted in communities, mainly in children and adolescence owing to their addiction risk. Besides, ancient costumes and social behaviours should not be replaced by the usage of innovatives technologies.