Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, with significant development of up-to-date technologies, more and more children have been spending time on their smartphones. Some people contend that this could make a positive influence on various aspects, while others believe that this could lead to detrimental consequences. In this essay, I will address two diametrically opposed views and reason out the conclusion. There are several advantages that are worth considering. First of all, they can utilize their phones for versatile purposes. For instance, there are a myriad of applications available. Hence, they can download applications not only to learn other languages but also to keep in touch with their friends and families. In addition to this, it effectively prepares children to engage with future technologies. In recent times, several schools have adopted to use smartphones or smart gadgets (e.g. iPad) in the classes. Therefore, if they get accustomed to these kinds of technologies, it will help them to adjust to school life. In spite of the merits described above, however, it could lead to adverse detrimental consequences. To begin with, spending too much time on their smartphones can hinder the growth of their cognitive development and creativity skills. For example, the more they spend time on watching youtube videos, the more they become to rely on these media. As a result, it distracts children from thinking by themselves and forces to accept the information passively. As well as this, this can make a problem regarding children's social skills. Even though they can communicate with other people on smartphones, it is totally different compared to communicating with people in real life in many ways. (e.g. gestures, tones, and attitudes) Thus, they can undergo difficulty to have conversations with others, furthermore, they can feel isolated. In conclusion, it can be observed that there are two viewpoints, which are both, to a certain degree, convincing. Although this can offer merits, it seems to me its risks far outweigh its benefits. Therefore, I consider it as a negative development.