In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problem for governments. Other people think that there are benefits if society has more elderly population. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In a lot of nations nowadays, it is the case that people die later than has ever been the case before. On the one hand, some people may feel this has propagated issues for the government. On the other hand, some people argue that there are clear advantages with a high prevalence of elderly people in the population. In this essay, I will argue that the declining youth population has mostly created devastating economic consequences for the government, as this forces them to increase their expenditure on public services. Having an increasingly ageing demographic will likely increase the demand for public necessities such as: healthcare, retirement homes and pensions. Consequently, it is almost certain that the government will have to increase drastically the spending budget it allocates to their spending to match the rise in consumption. Whilst this may benefit the society for the greater good as it's likely to increase the quality of the services, this will likely mean that those spent funds could have likely been spent elsewhere more productively. This is because despite such necessities being essential pillars to the wellbeing of society, I believe that governments due to the rising ageing populations may feel pressured into not spending it anywhere else, and given that the elderly are economically inactive, this will not likely increase the economy's productivity and instead could have the adverse effect of increasing taxes in the nation to cover the loss. For instance, having explored this topic in my Sociology lessons, I have found out the devastating long term impact which a high proportion of older people has on economies of Japan and Singapore. Before becoming dominated with the elderly, these countries were far more productive economically and had lower tax rates which has allowed them to grow economically. Hence, the increasing life expectancy has devastating implications for the government as it puts constraint on their resources, and reduces their ability to spend elsewhere. Nevertheless, one of the main arguments in favour of an elderly demographic is that retired people can take care of children in dual-career couples. This is because such couples will likely simply not have time to provide for their children, as both of the parents will be working. In that case their parents, who will not be working, may take the role of child carers and therefore this will allow the governance to maintain its workforce size. Furthermore, this may have wider benefits for family dynamics. One reason for this is that children are more likely to be able to spend more time with their grandparents which will allow for family bonding. Given the generational gap which is growing between the youth and the elderly, this could be an effective solution to ensure there is a close relationship of children with their older family members. For example, back when I was a toddler, my grandmother and my grandparents used to look after me and my other siblings. Therefore, this provides a foundation for families in the long term as it involves several stakeholders within a family environment and will mean that the economy is more likely to be productive, which can benefit the government massively. In conclusion, it is true that an increasing percentage of older people can help families where parents may require assistance as they can seek out for looking after their children. However, on the whole, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the disadvantages as the governing bodies will experience an increasing need to fund common services, which has a clear opportunity cost.