Young people are often influenced in their behaviours by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Youngsters usually take their decisions based on the influence of their friend circles which causes drastic issues for them. I agree with this viewpoint completely and drawbacks of peer pressure are big enough to cause disturbance in their lives. In this essay, the reasons why this type of behaviour is effecting will be examined further. Teenagers choose careers because their friends have opted that field. They start believing that if their friend has interest in that field then they could definitely succeed. They never consider their own hobbies and do not take aptitude tests to check whether their choice aligns with their goals. Consequently, they get trapped with the wrong decision which could be avoided. For instance, many students in India take competitive examinations just to accompany their schoolmates further in their college life. When they follow that guidance then they usually fail to fulfil that desire or end up in a wrong profession from where it is difficult to change path. Ergo, it is better to rely on aptitude tests rather than peers for opting career. Moreover, there is even darker side of peer pressure. If any kid joins bad company then his whole life get ruined. To exemplify, drug addiction begins from spoiled friends who already are under influence of the drugs and force their classmates to indulge in same habbits. They happen to have least conscientiouness conscientious at this stage of life and cannot analyze situations in a long-term perspective. Thus, parents and teachers tend to separate students or friends in the classroom to avoid such things to happen. To conclude, friendship should never be a guiding principle to make decisions in life such as career. Neither anyone should join a group that is known to have bad behaviour and addictions. Eventually, taking any part with them ruins life and career so peer influence should strictly avoided.