In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Companies nowadays have a tendency to focus on the innovativeness of their products in advertisements. Personally, I contend that pressure from the market is among the major drivers for this trend. Despite being a shrewd marketing approach,it is not a particularly positive one from my perspective. There could be an exhaustive list of reasons why companies present their products as somewhat original, but fierce competition is among the key drivers. When production becomes much more efficient, the market in many industries, particularly in consumer goods, is saturated with a plethora of different products. This saturation implies that if manufacturers wish to stay afloat, it is their job to differentiate their products from their competitors’. As consumers often equate newness with being superior in quality, a focus on the innovative features could prove a focal selling point that incentivizes increased consumer demand. As an example, the mobile-tech giant Apple introduced a third camera for their latest Iphone. Many argue that these features are little more than aesthetical novelty, yet they helped Apple attract new buyers and created an upsurge in demand for smartphones with high-quality cameras. Judging from a balanced standpoint, the aforementioned marketing methods arguably come with both benefits and drawbacks, depending on the position we assume. On the one hand, it helps consumers to be better aware of the point of difference in a product, thereby assisting them in selecting the product that best serves their needs. On the other hand, issues can arise when companies ’ claims might create some false advertising. In order to attract customers, it is far from rare for companies to make some bold or exaggerated claims regarding their products, many of which are hard to substantiate. One example is in the cosmetic industry, where products are often marketed as carrying innovative anti-aging properties or revolutionary technologies, even when there is limited conclusive research. As a result, many consumers, gullible ones in particular, spend their hard-earned money on products only to end up being disappointed. If this malpractice were to become the norm, consumers’ trust in businesses and the messages they deliver would be corroded on the whole. In summary, many business entities are currently focusing on the original respect of their product as it provides a new experience to the customer to stand out from the competitors. The trend would be beneficial if companies can make good on their claims, but otherwise it’d be little more than marketing gimmicks that |ultimately do irreparable damage to consumer trust.