Museum and Art Galleries should concentrate on work that show history and culture of their own country rather than work of the other part in the world.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social places such as museum and art galleries have an integral part in understanding history. It is, therefore, not surprising to see how it has caused a controversy among people about whether countries should focus their own history and culture or not. Some people firmly support their argument, others adamantly object to it. I have solid reasons to agree with both two of which are presenting their cultural heritage and giving chance to different cultures. To begin with, supporters of this matter claim that social place should show their own culture and history, especially for tourists who are visit the country to learn more about the country history. For instance, İstanbul Modern Art Gallery includes popular artists’ works more than their local artists. This is very convincing argument depending on fact that this various situation can confuse visitor mind. Also, tourists want to observe places own culture. It leads to lack of considering countries own history and culture. On the other hand, intellectual activities like visiting museum and art gallery link to exploring local life. Therefore, urban places should show only local experiences. The opponents of this matter have a totally different perspectives about this debate. They emphasize that globalization impacts social connection such as international tourists. It may be argued this is very important as cultural heritage is part of global World. It is clear that natural disasters and war risk have a hazardous effect on historical pieces. Therefore, protection of world heritage is responsibility of everyone. In other words, preservation and bringing essential pieces of history to visitors is more important than where they are displayed. For example, British Museum presents very crucial historical pieces about not only antic world but also the roman empire. To sum up, people have a totally different perspectives about this matter. Nevertheless, when everything is taken into account, I am inclined to believe that there should be a delicate balance between these two arguments.