The tradition that famliy gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

Having meals with family is getting less common today. The rising rate of employment of both parents and the increasing use of digital devices among young adults are significant reasons for more families to eat separately. The lack of time for conversation during meals can harm their relationship and promote the isolation of children. The primary cause for a declining custom of meal time with family is the rising number of parents having full- time employment these days. In other words, more children tend to eat meals by themselves since their parents are late to come home from work. In fact, the employment rate among women has almost doubled in the past few years. Thus, their growing difficulty in adjusting mealtimes with children discourages their conversation, which is critical in building an intimate relationship. Furthermore, the lack of understanding of each other will lead to more conflicts and suspicion within the family, which makes parents undependable even when an emergency arises because of the constant shortage of shared time in daily life. Another significant factor for the disappearing custom of having meals with family is the increasing reliance on digital devices among young adults. Indeed, they are more likely to spend time enjoying various activities online in their own rooms rather than eating with their family. For instance, they are often so obsessed with chatting and posting pictures and videos of their hobbies and holidays using SNS sites such as Facebook and Instagram, which leads to the declining value of face-to-face communication in daily life. This can encourage the isolation of children without proper supervision from adults and raise risks of their wrongdoings and being a victim of crimes. Consequently, juvenile delinquency, often caused by the weakening relationship with parents, has become a serious issue in modern society. In conclusion, eating meals with family is less common with the higher employment rate of women, resulting in more children spending solitary time. In addition, their growing addiction to SNS today makes the actual interaction with parents less attractive, allowing children to escalate their improper behaviour.