Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism, but others consider that tourism is the only way pf protecting a culture. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

With the advancements in the modes of travelling and communication, a large number of people are visiting other countries to explore the world.Some folks argue that the traditional values may be destroyed if an increasing number of tourists are encouraged to a country but I believe that tourism is the best way of preserving traditional customs. Considering the negative impact of tourism on culture, it is considered by some that it is harmful to local traditions.The excursionists coming to any country expect the host state to meet their demands.To illustrate this, many Europeans coming to Pakistan ask for wine which is otherwise not widely available in our society.To cater for their needs, alcohol is provided in shops at a cheap rate which is causing many young boys to be involved in overdrinking and using abusive language thus creating problems for the community. On the other hand, the holiday-makers are the ones who are responsible for the spread of traditional values to their own countries.The visitors going to different places learn the language and the manners of the native area and start practising them. For instance, I found many German tourists wearing shalwar kameez in Islamabad which is the national dress of Pakistan. In addition, the adventurers are the ambassadors of the social norms of a nation. For example, when rubbernecks travel around the world, they share beautiful pictures of special places and delicious dishes on social media sites which encourage other explorers to visit and learn about that place and its customs. In conclusion, there are varied opinions on whether travellers help promote or destroy native traditions. Although some folks would highlight the drawbacks of touristry in the local area like the negative behaviour of travellers, its advantages for the preservation and propagation of any culture far outweigh some of its demerits.