Some students travel abroad for one year before starting university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is becoming more and more popular among teenagers to take gap years and travel the world before pursuing college. I'm of the opinion that this trend has both pros and cons which will be discussed in the following passage. In recent times, it has been noted that many students opt to travel to other countries before they start their university life. This is widely because they are in need of a desperate break after their major board exams and want to explore other parts of the world. Another reason, contributing to this idea is that they use this time to figure out what they want to pursue in the future. In addition, travelling abroad is always appreciated irrespective of age. Everyone should travel especially, youth. Young adults take this opportunity to consume knowledge about other nation's cultures, languages, cuisine and customs. Also, These are times when they learn about money management, decision making and foreign people's mentality. For instance, Yale School of Foreign Studies show that students who pursue university after taking a one-year pause upon completion of high school succeed in their careers 94% more than the average school attendees as they possess a lot of experience in tackling difficult scenarios and are more adaptable to any given situation. However, having said that there are also some downsides to this notion, some students return back to their normal life, while others tend to become lethargic or more comfortable during their holidays and are reluctant to deal with studies, exams or project work. Besides, few offspring get jobs locally and realize that they can survive without a degree and that is sufficient. For example, Fair Pay website conducted a survey and found that 67% of young adults who chose to work after schooling decided not to go back to college as they became financially independent and dismissed the idea of attaining a degree. Overall, I believe that education is a virtue and everyone ought to conclude their education with a bachelor's degree. Taking a year off is advisable only if a person chooses to stay focused and finish up their college education