Some people think that the government should give money to creative people, such as artists and musicians. To what extent do you agree?

One school of thought holds that the authority ought to allocate more resources to people who are working in the art and music industries. While I accept that this perception is just somewhat justifiable, I believe that there are other aspects for the government to invest in. On the one hand, it is understandable why individuals who are working as artists or musicians should earn more money from the local authority. To begin with, from an economic perspective, government funding for artists and musicians can stimulate the economy. By investing in the creative industry, more job opportunities could be created, from art supplies to production companies. This would lead to a more vibrant job market and economic growth. Furthermore, funding artists and musicians can help preserve heritage and traditions. This is due to the fact that many traditional arts are at risk of being lost without financial support from the state. As a result, government funding can ensure they are passed down to future generations. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that artists and musicians should not receive money from the government. One reason is that it is a waste of public money for the government to invest in the creative industry. Developing countries are prime examples of this. Instead of spending money on essential sectors such as Health care, finance, and business services,... the leaders in those countries tend to allocate money to the entertainment industry, to attract tourists. However, this money could not be compared with core sectors, hence the state has a budget deficit. Additionally, another reason is that talented individuals from other vital sectors will change their jobs to fit in an entertainment role. If inhabitants realize their current salary and benefits cannot be compared with others who work as musicians or artists, they could change their occupation immediately. Consequently, the workforce in terms of finance, and real estate is seriously lacking, hence the national budget is lacking and the government cannot support other sectors in respect of their investment list. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that a number of benefits explain why the government should allocate money for creative individuals, I would contend that several factors mentioned above explain why it is not essential to invest money in the entertainment sector from the state budget.