Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While one school of thought holds that only elite students should be rewarded, others are adamant that it is even more important to reward those who have made progress. These views are not mutually exclusive and make tremendous sense in their own rights, so they should be adopted simultaneously. Granted, one might argue that only students with outstanding academic performance should receive rewards. This is predicated on the assumption that these students have worked more diligently, and justifiably earned the rewards. This reward scheme, so the argument goes, can also encourage other students to exert themselves more to win the rewards, hence overall academic gains across the board. It is also true that this winner-take-all kind of competition exists in all aspects of life, so schools should expose young people to this reality to best equip them for the real world. However, supporters of giving rewards to those who show signs of improvement justify their position by citing the potential stultifying effects on slower students that the winner-take-all reward scheme might have. They say that instead of feeling motivated to work harder, slower students might simply feel that they can never surpass those outstanding individuals and lose the incentive to study. Furthermore, placing more emphasis on improvement is arguably healthier than the competitive spirit to win against all others. This is because the latter relies entirely on external factors, as seen in how top students often feel complacent after winning certain rewards, while the constant desire to improve themselves can remove this sense of complacency and works in everyone’s case regardless of how well they are doing academically. In conclusion, while there are justifications to exclusively reward students who achieve the best academic results or those who show improvements. However, I am convinced that both initiatives are useful in their own ways and should both be adopted.