Some people argue that holding sporting events is beneficial to countries' development. However, other people hold the opposite opinion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some are of the opinion that if a nation hosts sports affairs, it would aid in the country's overall growth. However, others contradict the aforementioned idea. I believe that conducting sports events has both merits and demerits which shall be discussed in the following passages. Firstly, games are getting very popular through the internet and other social media platforms. Hence, every country would like to arrange big competitive games where, they invite neighbouring countries to come and play in their homeland where they will gain recognition. This creates a plethora of opportunities to increase in- country revenue because many people will visit their country resulting in a hike in tourism, which in turn helps small business owners earn huge earnings and increase job opportunities for the locals. For example, when the USA conducted the Olympic games, it had the highest record of tourists entering the country and earned nearly 5 million dollars in hotels, food and tourist sectors. Having said that, there are also some concerns with this phenomenon. Foreigners who visit a new land, do not understand the culture or customs and end up upsetting the native community. Another issue is, due to the high volume of people entering the country they might end up littering so much trash and causing inconvenience to the residents. For example, when the Football World Cup took place in UAE, people did not understand the importance of their dress code and ultimately ended up hurting local's feelings. To put it in a nutshell, In my perspective, if the country is capable of handling people who flock to watch games, they should definitely host. Even though there are some downsides to inviting sports teams to their native land, the advantage of organising athletic events has more benefits.