Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Due to the limited budgets of the country, the government is responsible for allocating them for activities that are important and should be immediately developed. Some people consider that the government should not spend money on the arts they are not the most necessary issue. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why I disagreed with this view. First, the arts increase the value of products. Although the product’s functions are important, the design is also crucial for price setting and customers’ decisions. The higher product prices generate more of the country’s income and lead to the better financial situation of the country. For example, art toys have recently become popular in Thailand. There are many international collectors who pay attention to the toys’ design and desire to give extra money for the rare ones. The incoming revenue from these goods is significantly high and it shows the economic potential of arts products very well. Second, the arts support and improve people’s mental health especially for the one who is working in the big cities and facing a lot of pressure and stress. In addition, the increase in number of happy populations leads to the decrease in crime rates. To give a clear example, there should be a place, such as museum, where the populations can relax and enjoy the arts during the weekends or their holidays. To conclude, the arts cause several positive impacts on various aspects of the society. It can improve the mental health of the populations. Furthermore, it can add value of the products which lead to the country’s wealth. Those are the reasons why I agree that the government should continuously support the arts industry.