In some countries, many people do not have enough money to access the internet. Should governments be responsible for ensuring that everyone can get access to the internet?

The Internet has changed the way we perceive day to day activities. It has affected major walks of life and given entertainment a new perspective. Majority of the western countries have digitally revolutionised and everyone has access to the internet while in other parts of the world it is still considered as a luxury. It is often argued that governments should be responsible for ensuring that everyone can get access to the internet. I personally do not believe that it is the government ’s responsibility to provide free internet access to everyone as it is quite an unreasonable demand. In this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. In many growing economies, the government has several major problems to tackle like hunger, poverty, infrastructure and healthcare etc. In my opinion, equating these issues with the need of access to the internet is quite illogical however, the government can instead digitalise public institutions such as libraries, colleges, community centres etc and provide free internet access to everyone. Various studies have shown that majority of the people use internet for entertainment rather than educational purposes. Social media like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc are the most commonly visited sites as compared to educational websites, which are rarely browsed. Setting up internet facilities requires expensive equipment which will put additional burden on an already pressurised government and I would rather have the government spend this money to eradicate poverty or on the basic needs of its citizens. In the end, I would like to conclude that even though providing internet access in some parts of the world will be a step in the right direction, certainly it’s not the need of the hour. According to me, providing basic facilities such as food, sanitation, clean drinking water etc are of much more importance and should be dealt at first. (301 Words)