in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

A controversial argument has arisen between two view, the first viewpoint believes that old people are beneficial, while the other one disagrees with that. In this report, I will go through the merits and demerits of having them, and then allow me to conclude my point of view. On the one hand, elderly people help to commemorate countries' cultures and they are professional workers. For example, in KSA, in the national day, a lot of citizens did not know how to wear antique clothing, while their ancestors were able to identify how the old style looks like. Besides that, in Japan, which contains the highest percentage of elderly people, their culture is famous because there are a lot of people who protect their old traditions. Moreover, they are helpful, beneficial, responsible, and profitable because a lot of them did not use the internet when they were younger; as a result, they have a lot of helpful skills which are difficult to find nowadays such as problem-solving, searching, and communication. On the other hand, they are money-consuming. To illustrate that, their health is usually poor so a lot of money is spent to treat them. Also, a lot of them are unemployed, so governments should give them money without working, and many statistics capture that a large part of the country's economy is spent on them either as incomes or medicens. Additionally, many reports show that developed countries have less percentage of old people; as a consequence, their economy is extremely high because young people are more productive than old ones. In conclusion, although old people are helpful and beneficial, they are, indeed, useless and money-consuming. However, I believe that the disadvantages of having an ageing population surpass the advantages.