It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been recommended to prohibit cars, buses and trains from city centres and to substitute them with bikes. This essay totally agrees with this statement because implementing this idea can reduce pollution, and increase the health levels of people. On the one hand, using bicycles can decrease the pollution. Bicycles, compared to cars and other vehicles are environmentally friendly and do not work by burning fuels and dangerous substances and subsequently do not release treacherous chemicals into the air, therefore, enjoying cleaner weather will be possible and people will hopefully suffer less from pollution-related diseases like asthma. For example, in Tehran the capital of Iran, in recent years, some centres have been opened, in which families can use bicycles for free by just giving their ID cards and this has helped a lot in reduction of pollutants in the air. On the other hand, individuals by using bicycles can maintain healthier lifestyles by increasing the amount of their daily activities. there are bigger muscles engaged in cycling rather than driving, and these large muscles like the glutes can burn a great number of calories, therefore, people can lose weight and stay healthy. For instance, the research has shown that people who engage in high-intensity activities like running and cycling can burn up to 20% more fat than people who have sedentary lives. In conclusion, there are lots of advantages for cycling and it is a great idea to replace cars and other vehicles, used in public transportation with bicycles.