The international community should take action immediately to ensure that all countries reduce the consumption of fossil fuels, such as gas and oil. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, fossil fuels have become an integral part of day-to-day lives. Whether or not the international community should implement measures to control the consumption of fossil fuels is a debatable topic. This essay will disagree on why there should not be any stringent rules in the usage of fossil fuel mainly because of the convenience it provides to people even though it has harmful effects on the environment. It has been argued that excessive use of fossil fuels can contaminate the environment which is true. The emission of fuels such as gas and oil pollutes the atmosphere as an enormous quantity of CO2 is released. Moreover, these emissions not only pollute air and water but also affect plants and animals deteriorating the overall balance of the ecosystem. For example, Mumbai, one of the most populous cities in India is also considered to be the most polluted city in the world because of the increased population and consequently the larger consumption of oil and gas. Therefore, fossil fuels cannot be considered an environmentally friendly energy source. On the other hand, fossil fuels are very reliable in terms of convenience while considering the practical aspect of everyday living. People across the globe work in a busy schedule and time is the most expensive commodity which cannot be purchased. This necessitates the importance of a convenient source of energy that can be consumed in less time and fuels such as oil or gas are available in the market with an easy-to-use option. For instance, oil and gas stations in Canada are automated such that customers can refill on their own without even relying on someone. All these factors contribute to the fact that fossil fuels are unavoidable and inevitable for humans. This essay argues fossil fuels are vital in the lives of human beings despite their detrimental effects on the ecosystem. In my opinion, although these highly used fuels can harm the environment, the benefits owing to their convenience are entirely justified due to which unnecessary control should not be imposed.