Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going university. What might be the reasons for this? What are the disadvantages of this practice?

In some countries, it is common for students to take a year off after completing secondary school, usually to work or travel, before commencing their studies at university. This essay will explore the main reasons for taking a gap year, as well as the potential drawbacks of this practice. The reasons for taking a year off are multiple. Some take a gap year to go travelling, exploring other countries, learning new languages, or volunteering for good causes. Others seek to explore their future career paths through internships and work experience programmes before committing to studying for a certain degree. Whichever way young people choose to spend this year, in my opinion, their greatest motivation is a desire to learn more about themselves, their interests and aspirations. Despite these valid reasons, delaying university studies has some downsides. Travelling for a long period of time or working at this relatively young age may be stressful. Some individuals may also feel left behind when they see all their friends going to university and graduating one year earlier. This emotional stress may be further exaggerated by the financial burden of travelling or volunteering without pay for an extra year. Eventually, once the gap year is over, young people may discover that their study skills have diminished over time and returning to full-time education may be even harder. To conclude, some school leavers delay going to university in order to discover themselves, explore future career paths and gain useful skills through work or travel. However, they are also risking encountering more stress and expenses than their peers who progress straight to their bachelor’s programmes.