Some people think the manufacturers and shopping malls should sell fewer packaged products while others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been pointed out that the reduction in using packaging is the responsibility of manufacturers and retailers, while some people suggest that customers ought to purchase goods without packaging. Personally, I agree with the former idea as only factories and sellers reducing the excessive package can solve the overpacking issue. On the one hand, some individuals, including me, opine that reducing the overuse of packaging is the providers’ responsibility. This is because if factories still produce products with a massive amount of redundant packaging, the shopping malls will continue selling without a choice, which attracts the general public to buy them, thus contributing to the usage of too much packaging. As a result of this, only when factories and shopping malls stop providing the products with excessive packages, the problem can be dealt with thoroughly. For instance, a boss of a shoe store, which stopped selling excessively packaged shoes last year, in New York presents that at the beginning of implementing this method, a huge number of their consumers were still looking for a delicate box or plastic bag. However, when being told that his stores stop providing boxes and bags, his customers just accept gradually, which indeed leads to the excessive usage of packaging. On the other hand, others argue that changing consumers’ purchasing behaviour is the main solution for the overpackage. The reason is that only when consumers realize the detriments of overpackaging genuinely and cease purchasing items with several layers of packaging, overpackage can be tackled. If there is still a significant percentage of individuals who reject consuming simple packaged goods, shopping centres have to continue providing overpackaged items in order to keep their sales and revenues. As an illustration, an officer from the local government states that the authorities have required local shops to stop selling overpacked items, which resulted in serious harm to the revenues of several stores as customers are unwilling to buy an item without beautiful packaging. As a consequence of this, choosing to consume less packaged goods is the main method to tackle this issue. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about who should take the responsibility to attain less packaging, I am of the opinion that only manufacturers and shopping centres have the ability to achieve this goal.