You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In developed countries, almost everyone owns a mobile phone or two. Some people think that the government should monitor ones phone's calling and texting records regularly. Others argue that without permission, this approach is violating individual's privacy. In this essay, I am going to discuss both these views and express my opinion. Since the invention of smartphones, cell phones, nowadays, are not only a machine for dialling calls. People can use them to express ideas, share their daily lives and even commit crimes. It has been shown that there is an increase number of crimes related to the use of mobile phone. Cyberbullying often happens which causes many losses of lives. If governments can monitor individuals' phone records freely, crimes and the lost of lives can be stopped from happening. However, people, like me, mainly communicate with others by messaging and, sometimes, will text about secrets or private things. Indeed, if governments have the full access of my phone freely, in my opinion, it is like I am walking on the street naked all the time. In some countries, if there is evidences shown that one is a suspect to law violation, police can check one's phone records after applying for a permission from the court. In this way, which from my point of view is a better way, crimes can be stopped and thus, public privacy can also be protected. In conclusion, the increase of the mobile phone usage has increased law violations. In order to protect citizens from being a victim of the crime and their privacy, I believe, getting a court permission before accessing one's phone is the only balanced solution.