Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to older more traditional values such as respect for the and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that desire to possess goods and egoism have become popular in modern world. Some individuals believe that appreciation, strengthening bonds in places where people live, and other positive habits from the past have to be implemented. I partly agree with this statement and will explore my opinion in this essay. To begin with, I suggest that returning to the way of living from the past may be impossible because previous people’s habits could not work in contemporary society. For instance, for surviving our ancestors had to be together and separated from the group individual did not have any chances to find food or to defend himself from foes. As for supporting mankind, customs, and values for keeping people together were created; however, nowadays situation was changed and a mature citizen without support from others may successfully create a career and may have a family. As a result, older values could not be cultivated in modern society. However, I agree that we have to develop an image of local community as an alternative to selfishness because interactions with neighbors in common topics play significant role in governmental management in many countries. As examples of self-governance, were individuals pay attention on community’s goals such as taxes, community services, and districts’ rules could be considered. In other word people do not concentrate on personal benefits but help to solve general problems which distract local dwellers. In conclusion, although older traditional values have rational core that could be realized in development of local communities, many typical attitudes to things from the past could not be implemented in modern world.