In many countries the proportion of older people is increasing. Could this have more positive or negative effects on society?

In many states the proportion of senior citizens is increasing. Thus, this can lead to many advantageous and disadvantageous sides. In my opinion, having an significantly increasing older population, will have negative effects sometime in the future. One serious problem that can arise from the population of older people rising, is that the birth rates may fall, as many women nowadays are refusing to get married, and have children, instead wishing to pursue their careers. This is a serious problem in Asian countries, such as South Korea, as women who were pressured to start a family, are retaliating against the common typecasts. Hence the senior population is broadening, and women are refusing to reproduce the new generation, this can have a negative outcome for the childbirth rates. Another issue that isn’t talked about enough would probably be the shortage of qualified workers in agencies. Since companies are keener on hiring younger people for jobs that require physical attractiveness, and fitness workstyle, the older people are put into retirement stipends. That is why senior citizens are having a hard time finding jobs in cities, because they just don’t fit the criteria/standards that the companies seem to have nowadays. For example, Japanese cities such as Osaka and Tokyo hold the highest record of having the oldest growing population, and no one seems to have a problem with the older citizens in offices. In conclusion, although having an older population can be tiring to have in workplaces, but firing them shouldn’t be just the solution to this problem. We should take example of Eastern Asian countries and treat our senior citizens with love and care.