Public health is becoming an urgent issue nowadays. Some argue that government should create nutrition and food choice laws to improve public health, while others believe that it is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is unfortunate that in the midst of vast progress in very field in every field of life, there is a growth of health issues. Many people believe that laws can improve public health by influencing people's choices of food, I partially agree with this point of view, moreover, I personally reckon that individuals should also make wise decisions and take the responsibilities of their own health and well-being. In the first place, governments should pass regislations legislations to restrict the supplies of food which may undermine people's health. For example, both cigarettes and alcohol shoud be banned to a certain age limit, menwhile, taxes of such goods should be increased so that to discourage the consumption. According to a recent survey, four million people die each year from diseases linked to smoking, in addition, the age of people who suffer from obesity, diabetes and heart attack is getting yonger and younger. Under today's rapid globalization and food industry monopoly, it is imperative for governments to take the initiative to make favorable influence on people's choice of food. On the other hand, some people may argue that it's a basic right to choose what they eat, which is undeniable, therefore, laws should not limit the diversity of foods and nutrition that people can acquire. However, this is exactly why it is more important that each individual should be responsible for their own health. To cite a few examples, temptation of delicious taste causes irrational choice of people's everyday diets; busy city life drive people to eat easier but unhealthier fast food; modern lifestyle made people indulged in excessive alcohol and irregular meals. Any individual, who is blind to this point, may pay a heavy price. From what has been discussed above, we may safely draw the conclusion that, although laws and legislations indeed make certain positive effect on people's decisions to keep a healthy diet, individuals should also make efforts to protect their own body health.