Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that money should be spent on developing roads and motorways rather than on public transport systems. I hold the belief that both road and public transport systems have vital roles to play in modern society and therefore should be equally invested in. On the one hand, better road quality increases the level of safety and reduces traffic congestion. In many cities and provinces in Vietnam for example, the number of road accidents is ever-increasing because there are a lot of holes in the road's surface. This is a piece of clear evidence that the government should spend money improving the quality of road systems in order to ensure the safety of people. Additionally, building under roads and more motorways in big cities like Ho Chi Minh, where traffic jam is still a major problem, will help to increase road capacity. On the other hand, better public transport systems are beneficial for the environment and people who do not have a private vehicle. In fact, some modes of public transport like subways produce less pollutants than cars and other private vehicles. Therefore, spending money providing people with access to public transport will improve air quality and reduce pollution. In conclusion, for the reasons above, I believe money should be well-spent on not only roads but also public transport systems.