art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. to what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Whether students must study art courses because of their importance makes an argument. This writer believes art classes do help children but making art classes compulsory is not need because they lean more on hobbies rather than subjects, other subjects such as math, physics are more important for the child's development. It is evident that painting and drawing are more likely a hobby not a subject. Painting and drawing do develop a child's creativity but children who do not like drawing and are not good at it will think it is ridiculous for art to become compulsory in schools. Moreover, nowadays teachers that teach drawing are so boring and most of the teachers do not care what children do in their classes. As a result, children seem to see art classes as a class that lets them play freely and do whatever they want more than thinking it is a class to develop their skills and creativity. From prior knowledge, subjects such as maths and physics are more important than art and studying those subjects is pretty heavy and hard. If students have to study art in school, students will think that studying main subjects is enough and they do not want another subject to become a main subject for them to study. Consequently, students get tired and do not want to study anymore. Additionally, parents can provide markers and papers for their children to draw at home to reduce stress in school and relax if they need. To conclude, drawing could reduce stress for students and enhance creative ability but not important to become a compulsory subject at school as it is more a hobby than a subject to study. Thus, painting can reduce stress and develop children's skills in leisure time at home or free time in school.