Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the recent years, various technological applications have been used to put people under surveillance through mobile phones and cameras without their awareness. In my opinion, these measures bring about more negative impacts than positive ones.  The first thing to consider regarding monitoring people using digital devices is that it goes against our civilization. Every living person has the right to keep their images private and live a free life without being supervised against their wills. Historical events haven proven that mankind is fighting for their freedom of speech and actions for several decades, and by controlling what people say or do by recording would set our sociey back several centuries. Moreover, keeping people under supervision without their consents is an act of dictatorship. Certain governments are using it to control the information shared among their citizenry. For example, China has been heavily controlled the social media platforms available, as well as restrict all sort of information published. It serves as methods to keep the citizen unawared of the certain situations, and by forbidding their citizen to voice up, the lawmakers can have better control over the community. In conclusion, technology should not be used to monitor what people say and do, especially against their consents, as it is a violation to their rights and it also disturbs the political transparency in a society.