Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

In these days, child development has always been considered to be an essential part. While some people believe that family plays an important role in raising children, others think that social factors like television, friends, and music have more influence on young people. In this essay, I will elaborate on two viewpoints, and my standpoint on the issue will be presented. To begin with, family is a serious aspect of a child’s development. First of all, children spend most of their time with their family, especially when they are at a very young age. In fact, children have immature cognition, so they cannot distinguish between good and bad; therefore, parents should support them at an early age. Moreover, children will try to mimic parents’s behaviors; hence, parents should not take actions that badly affect their child. Secondly, if several problems occur in the kid’s memory, such as child abuse or domestic violence, it could damage the child’s mental health. For instance, individuals who have experienced broken marriages from their parents will mostly feel unconfident and less secure in adult life. However, there is no doubt that external factors significantly impact a child’s evolution. Specifically, children can observe various kinds of knowledge on the internet or television. With the rapid development of technology, kids from all over the world can attend online classes with just a smart device like a smartphone, and they can learn multiple languages by watching foreign programs on television. Not only that, friends can also influence children, as they will try to do the same as their peers to not be lonely in a group of friends. In conclusion, both family and social factors can affect children in many ways. In my opinion, family is more important than anything else in developing children.