In most countries,prison is an effective solution for the problem of crime. Some people think a more effective solution is to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is unfortune that in the midst of vast progress in every field of life, there are still many existing crimes and even a growth of juvenile dilinquency. Some people say stringent punishment and prison are the solutions, however, I believe education is more effective in the long run. Admittedly, criminals must be brought to justice, nevertheless, education as a preventive measure is more beneficail to reduce crime by addressing root causes such as poverty and lack of opportunities. Taking my country as an example, surveys reveal that 40% of the law offenders are from impoverished families, 30% criminals are illiterate, and only 5% receievd higher education. The role of education is not only important in fostering critical thinking, but also moral reasoning, which may deter individuals from engaging in criminal activities. In addition, many crimes were committed at an early age, education may potentially reform young offenders' values, moreover, offer alternative pathways and career options, reducing reliance on criminal activity for income. There was a case in Canada, teenage twin sisters killed their mother for long-term suffering from domestic violence caused by their mother's drug and alcohol addiction. After 10 tears rehabilitatation and studying their interested major in the prison, one became an accountant and another became a lawyer and had their " new born " lives. Therefore, education brings benefits to individuals and the scoiety. To conclude, education can be successful not only in preventing the crimes but also reducing the rate by awaken people's goodness inside and tackle the root of the problem.