Nowadays, people prefer buying new items rather than repairing the damaged ones. What are the causes of this change ? what are its effects?

It is noticeable that people tend not to have broken items repaired and they would prefer to buy new things instead. The causes for such behavior could be due to the availability of different products and the reduction in price of goods, making it more appealing to replace damaged things instead of having them fixed. Convenient as it may seem, this trend will have negative impact on the environment, as it creates more trashes when people keep discarding unwanted possessions. Nowadays, various companies are competing with each other by offereing different designs and adding more functions into their products continuously. For example, Apple launches new devices every year, nudging iFan to keep buying brand new phones. Consequently, people are fed with the idea of owning new things, and fixing the broken ones eventually becomes unfashionable. Additionally, with the advances in technology, manufacturing cost has been reduced significantly, especially for items in fashion category or housewhold appliances. This has reduced the prices of buying brand new to the point that repairing services may seem more expensive. To illustrate, a price for an unboxed microwave oven would be around 10 to 15 US Dollars, while the fee charged for having an oven repaired could easily reach 20 US Dollars. Thus, it would discourage owners from employing the repair services. One of the most prominent disadvantages the buying new mindset may bring is that the environment will be negatively affected. More trashes mean more unfavourable materials containing nylon, plastic, and toxic chemical substances are being released into nature, polluting our soils, water and air. The great burden of trash handling will exhaust our environmental resources and will exacerbate the current situation of climate change. In conclusion, consumers are tempted by the low price and the wide availability of different products types, making them more likely to buy brand news when the old ones are unusable. If the trend continues, the environment willd be severly affected.