In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society have more elderly people. to what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether or not the trend of most of the population getting old can be of benefit to society is a debatable matter. While some believe that we can take advantage of the elderly by seeking out their deep knowledge or life experiences, others and I adhere to the belief that the disadvantages of this phenomenon are far more sensitive than its merits. As the population is moving towards ageing, many young people consider it difficult to compete in the job market against the more experienced ones. Besides, most companies prefer to save budget for expansion or other purposes rather than expensive internships to educate the young. Moreover, there are certain domains such as physically demanding jobs that cannot be contented by armchair knowledge; therefore, these jobs require mostly juveniles but since their population is falling drastically, hiring has become a challenge. Take Iran as an example; the major segment of the young Persian community is now migrating due to political issues that the country is facing which contributes to a steep fall in workforce and birth rates. One other major problem is the cost of patient retention since most of these citizens are now prone to numerous diseases due to their age. Consequently, the government has to dedicate a major proportion of its capital to medical purposes which could have been used for developing other important aspects of the country. Moreover, the elderly have prohibited immune systems which make them the best candidates to spread a disease on a national scale. This way not only they themselves will be at risk but also our valuable younger generation. A recent study demonstrated that during the pandemic of COVID-19, more than half of the death numbers were due to the number of old people being sick. In a nutshell, although there are limited benefits to having old people in society, many others state that it is both pricy and illogical to consider this ageing trend an asset. I tend to side with the second group because of the reasons that were elaborated in this essay.