Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent years, there are countless ways to assess students ’ performances, and it is complicated to determine which one is the most effective method. Some argue that continuous homework should be the one, and at least exams cannot evaluate their grades properly. Although I partly agree with this statement, there are various merits of doing an examination to check students progresses. Firstly, applying daily or monthly assessment is obviously an excellent idea to measure students since teachers statistically obtain the results of these to decide students ’ grades. As an illustration, stundents have to keep their efforts to accompulish their daily homeworks, thus teachers are easy to notice the time when a student stops his or her effort. Therefore, this system allows them to observe students ’ performance more carefully and appropriately. On the other hand, examination is also beneficial to do so since students cannot help each other while an examination. Since they frequently do their assessments with friends or search on the internet, it is quite invisible to see individual abilities. In contrast, students cannot assist or cheat while testing, thus it is fair to evaluate their abilities. For instance, developed technology such as Chat GPT can solve almost every mathmatical task, so students tend to use it when they cope with their homeworks. However, all they have while an examination is a pencil, which means that teachers can more fairly assess their performance. Consequently, examination has its own profits which makes teachers assess students ’ abilities more meaningfully. In conclusion, while there is a strong advantage of using daily or monthly assessments to evaluate students ’ performance, the merit of implementing an examination is still significant. Hence, I personally believe that schools should utilize these depending on their situations.