Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gifted classes are becoming all-pervasive in this modern world than ever before. However, there remains certain discrepancy as to whether these courses should compulsory for children around the world. Whereas many put forward the approval proposition, I hold to the belief that teenagers should choose to learn based on the passion and object to the obligatory. First and foremost, the talents of adolescents are the things that should be considered seriously. Obviously, be good at drawing, music and painting can bring children to a wide range of opportunities of jobs. However, there is a minority of teenagers has talent in arts field and make a decision to learn. So, parents should not obligate children to join the classes at school or extra classes. Furthermore, one of the critical problems associated with these issues that students can be bored to learn without interested in subjects. However, there are stronger rationales to believe that art-related subjects should not be imposed as a mandatory requirement in high school curricula. The key argument here is that most highest school students have had self-orientations toward specific professions that they want to pursue in the future. That is to say, dividing their energy and studying timetable for arts is very unreasonable as there are other academic subjects to prioritize. Therefore, arts should be taught as supplementary subjects and only be focused on by those who consider this field as their future career path. In conclusion, notwithstanding the merits of teaching arts at high schools, I am firmly convinced that they should not become compulsory subjects because there may be some detrimental effects on high school students' learning process.