The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and liveable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

It has been pointed out that a huge number of towns and cities which were built roughly 200 years ago are not suitable to be habitation nowadays. Personally, I consider that living in old towns will detriment the protection of historical cultures, and the government should conduct measures to protect an old building. First of all, living and working in the cities which were constructed hundreds of years ago is harmful to the conservation of historical identity. The reason is that the public facilities in these old areas are extremely outdated, so new constructions are necessary in order to make people comfortable living there. Since historical architectures document the past generations’ thoughts and behaviours, redevelopment in these areas definitely will destroy local old cultures. For instance, China faced the lack of residences issue a few years ago, so policymakers decided to demolish several old buildings to build modernized habitation. Historians said that this damage to precious architecture also destroys the Chinese culture. Furthermore, the authorities ought to conduct methods to provide enough residence while preserving historical architecture. This is because governments not only have sufficient professionals who are equipped with a great deal of knowledge of history and construction but also have ample funding to carry out several projects, thus achieving both goals at the same time. As an illustration, the Hong Kong government decided to build a significant majority of skyscrapers in the centre of Hong Kong to provide alternative accommodation for the people who lived in old buildings, which not only tackled the issue of the lack of residence but also conserved a historical area. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about the problems which are caused by living in an old city and the solutions to that, I am of the opinion that living in those old street blocks can harm our historical identity, and developing new areas to live should be performed by the politicians.